Skip navigation

Interestingly enough, I recently upgraded to xorg-server 1.5 from 1.3. I removed my xorg file, and it works passably. It’s choice of graphics drivers is a little annoying – I’ve been using radeonhd and getting 3-5000 frames in glxgears. Now I’m getting about 1000, and it pegs my cpu.

However, all functionality on my mouse is auto detected – horizontal and vertical scrolling, backwards and forwards buttons. This means that my previous posts on scrolling are now obsolete – but that is life.

It has done a lousy job at guessing a good video card driver, though – at least from a performance perspective. I was using radeonhd and getting 3-5000 frames in glxgears. Now I’m getting about 1000, and it pegs my cpu.

I will admit that the regular ati driver does a better job at device detection, though – it’s just that I like actually using my graphics card – not that it’s anything spiffy as anyone familiar with glxgears can attest, but something is better than nothing.

I don’t think that I’m quite ready for an xorg.conf-less system just yet, but X is getting there.

3 Comments

  1. glxgears is not a benchmark of anything meaningful. Google for a full explanation. Compare the two drivers or before and after with a respected graphics benchmark if you want to make any kind of valid comparison.

  2. I am aware that glxgears is not a good benchmark – however, that does not mean that it is useless as a benchmark. I have had speed variations of up to 1.5x when dealing with the same driver, which I do not consider particularly significant. However, 3-5x slower is a significant difference, and it will be painfully evident in many 3d accelerated programs.

  3. My forays in Linux always equal in hairpulling and compromise on the xorg front.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Top Posts « WordPress.com on 25 Apr 2009 at 6:12 pm

    […] Xorg 1.5 – a step in the right direction Interestingly enough, I recently upgraded to xorg-server 1.5 from 1.3. I removed my xorg file, and it works passably. […] […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

