Skip navigation

I have recently come to the realization of how rusty I am at programming.  I haven’t been doing enough small applications to keep APIs, etc. in memory.  A few years ago, when I was pretty new, I studied and programmed compulsively, but I haven’t been giving as much in school of late.

To solve this problem, I have decided to go through a sort of training regime.   The first phase is to brush up on or become more proficient at I/O, and implementing basic algorithms.  As I progress, I will probably focus more on specific languages.  The second phase may be to develop a basic application in these languages, hopefully changing languages and challenges every week or so.  I may stagger the study, focusing on a few at a time.  We will see how things go.

These are my target languages:

  • C (I have been competent, but file input always got me)
  • C++ (This was once my preferred language.  I was never very good at operator overloading, and I need to brush up on templates.)
  • Java (I was thrust into Java in school.  I do not know the API very well at all.)
  • Perl (I have used this at work for web development, but most of what I did was maintenance, so my skills are not very polished)
  • Bash Scripts (I am decent at the command line, but I don’t really know how to use parameters with bash scripts.)
  • Ruby (I know very little.)
  • Common Lisp (I don’t know much, but I have done a few minor projects)

Things to practice:

  • Regexes
  • I/O (Files, network)
  • Data Structures
  • Web tech (maybe)

Ideas for possible problems to solve:

  • Basic utilities, like bash functionality
  • Problems from programming contests

Although none of these things seem impressive, that is secondary to the point; to practice.  I don’t know that anyone plays Hanon for fun, although simply working through exercises can be a good way to relieve stress.

Leave a Reply

