Skip navigation

My roommates were just giving me a hard time about a few things; heating up pans on the stove and forgetting about them and making toast and then not eating it.

I really have no recollection of leaving pans on the stove within the past 2-3 weeks, and 3 of my roommates have only lived here for 6 weeks.  The fact that they have noticed the elements being left on and commented on it probably means that I am guilty of the act within the 2-3 week period.  I remember none of this, which is definitely a bad thing.

As far as toast goes, I have noticed that my toast disappears.  Just a week ago I went to eat some toast I had made the previous day, and it was gone!  Of all the things, I expect my toast to stay put until I am ready for it. I do not always care if the toast is hot or cold.  If it is for breakfast, I would prefer it hot so as to melt butter on top.  Of course, cold toast is excellent for sandwiches.  It modifies the bread’s texture, making it seem more filling.

Some might argue that the minute it takes to make toast is insignificant, but I see no reason to not save a minute.  A minute saved is a minute earned (or something like that).  Caching is a very useful thing.  Of course, I can see that I could get frustrated with a roommate for doing what I do, especially if I did not understand the underlying reasoning.  Or maybe even if I understood the reasoning.

Principles common in computer science can be readily used in everyday life.  For example, I maintain several data structures to help me decide what clothes to wear.  These structures follow;

  • Ties (a queue with minor shuffling)
  • Shirts (a dual-tiered queue)
  • Pants (a stack)
  • Socks (a stack)
  • Underwear (a queue)

Thanks to these structures, I no longer have to make pointless decisions about what to wear, or even when to classify an article of clothing as dirty.  I do not strictly enforce the rules; for example, if I particularly feel like wearing something, I will just wear it.  I generally don’t care that much about my system, but I would be pretty annoyed if someone were to randomize my shirts, because I use the queues to track when I should wash a given shirt.

Perhaps this is a bit obsessive-compulsive, but I would prefer to classify it as a peculiar personality quirk or an endearing behavior.

One Comment

  1. David, you are such a nerd! I think that is one of the oddest things I’ve ever read. Congrats? You’re weird! Good thing I like you still…😀


Leave a Reply

