Skip navigation

From my last explorations, I summarize:

use cat /dev/input/device | hexdump, where device is the device listed if you do ls -l /dev/input/by-id/, to see exactly what data your usb input devices (mice, possibly keyboards) are sending.

To skip the formatting, you can use a nice feature of hexdump to format things for you. Try this:

# cat /dev/input/event3 | hexdump -e '12/2 "%04x "' -e '"\n"'

Formatting may not be perfect, but you should be able to get it to work. I much prefer the realtime display.

If you want to decipher the output, look at my overview in the previous post.

As an aside, /dev/input/mouse1 exists, but it seems to filter out keypresses, while the raw event file does not.

I don’t know that I will have time to continue this anytime in the near future.  Although I haven’t fixed my side-scrolling, I’m fine with things as they are for now.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] detected – horizontal and vertical scrolling, backwards and forwards buttons. This means that my previous posts on scrolling are now obsolete – but that is […]

Leave a Reply

