Skip navigation

Here’s a fun little pre-barbershop tune; the original lyrics are a bit out of date, but I think that the revision is excellent.  My mom found it for my quartet back in high school.

Original Lyrics:

1. My moustache is growing, its genial warmth bestowing; its beauty charms the eye of all Broadway. Come forth like a fairy so light and so airy, and ramble o’er my upper lip so gay.

2. But when I am drinking, I ofttimes am thinking, there’s one thing you will hinder very much; the rapturous blisses of sweet stolen kisses, You’ll scarcely let the girls our two lips touch.

Refrain: Come! come! moustache come, Come e’re the dye on thee fades; come forth like a fairy, so light and so airy, And ramble o’er my upper lip so gay.

My mother (who does a bit of composition and arranging) asked her friend, Marsha Burdick to help (who quite frequently helps her with lyrics), and she reworked it to something I much prefer:

1. My moustache is growing, my whiskers are showing. The mirror loves the image that I see. So manly and hairy, the ladies are wary; They can’t resist my masculinity.

2. And when I am drinking, I ofttimes am thinking There’s one thing it will hinder very much. The rapturous blisses of sweet stolen kisses, I fear it will not let our two lips touch.

Refrain: Come! Come! Moustache come, Come ere the dye on thee fades. So manly and hairy; the ladies are wary. They can’t resist my masculinity.

I imported the midi into Rosegarden, cleaned up some stuff, and exported from Rosegarden to Lilypond, where I added the lyrics and fixed the typesetting in a couple of tricky places.  At any rate, here is the music in Letter, A4, and LilyPond formats.

7 Comments

  1. Is there a URL on line where I can listen to this song? (My Moustache is Growing)

    • We’ve never recorded it. The lilypond format could be exported to midi, but here’s the original midi version exported to mp3.

        • Larry Schwab
        • Posted March 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm
        • Permalink

        THANK YOU, David! If you’re ever in Phoenix, I will treat you to lunch.

        • Larry Schwab
        • Posted July 1, 2013 at 3:58 am
        • Permalink

        I can’t get the midi to play the song. Is the song still available on Midi?

      • The mp3 made from midi works for me. What problem are you experiencing?

        Check out this project, too!: http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/singers-alumni-hymn-project/x/2742609

        • Larry Schwab
        • Posted July 1, 2013 at 3:05 pm
        • Permalink

        Hi David. Thank you for taking the time with my limited computer skills. When I click on “mp3” a circle with an arrow comes up, and inside the circle is a question mark.

      • Try right-clicking on the link (or command/apple-click on a mac?), then choosing “save link as” or something like that.


Leave a Reply

